3d model program?

Discussion in 'Feedback & Support Forum' started by m9rfzzy, Sep 14, 2011.

1. m9rfzzy

m9rfzzy hobo

high Im somewhat a noob :D but heck this realization wont stop me from asking the dumb questions... I'm new to papercraft kinda but i've made a few models and i'm having tons of fun... now im setting my sights higher e.e Some of the models i really want i either can't find or are hiding from me .__. Solution! Make it :D ... who knows might work , that being said. I'm tech handicapped. So decided to ask a few questions.

Any one recomend a good software (Preferably freeware) for rendering models that is noob friendly?

Also is there any tutorial sites for this that could be of some help?

Sorry if im asking in the wrong place but i kinda consider this as part of the whole when it comes to the hobby ^^

anyhow thank you in advance for reading and double thanks if any info is provided D:

*more proof im a noob, didnt mean to post in this section of forum. sorry. @_@
  2. Well, you're in luck. As it happens, the easiest to use and most card-model friendly 3D modeler/CAD program is also free: Google Sketchup. Actually there is a $500 paid version, but there's really no need for that. The most significant difference is that the paid version exports in the AutoCad and other file formats, but there are ways to export from the free program if you want (I've yet to have the need, myself).

You can save pages as bitmap images, though. I've also found at least one free plugin, the Unfold Tool, that can lay out a model flat for creating a card model. You'd probably have to divide the model into manageable sections to that, but it should work.