160' run ,power, pulling capacity and grade ....

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by kfh227, Jan 13, 2008.

1. kfh227

kfh227 Member

I guess I am a newbie but I will ask.

I want to do something simple. I have the opportunity to run a nice setup around a large room (a game room that is the second floor of a boathouse). I figure the run will be a single loop with 160' of track.

----- Question on powering the locomotive
    My experience with O scale is my dads old train which is probably a 16' loop. When the engine gets to the tracks farthest from the power source, it always slows down (It a pre-war train). It is very noticeable. I can only imagine what a 160' run would be like.

So, how can this be overcome at low cost? I was thinking of running some heavy wire like 10-2 or 8-2 along side the track and tapping in every 30 feet or so. This would reduce voltage drop greatly.

EDIT: I just had the realization(I have a BS in Electrical Engineering ... 10 yeas ago) that all I need is a current source, not a voltage source. So long as the power source keeps the amperage constant, the train should run steadily. A current source is a simple circuit. I could research it and build one if I need to.

----- Pulling capacity
    I figure 20 or so cars will be pulled (eventually) due to the size of the track. In terms of locomotives, what should I be concerned with? Do I need multiple engines? Also see my section on grade.

----- Grade