14 year old needs help asap

JVRR

Jun 22, 2005
Louisvile, Kentucky
HI my name is joshua and I am swicthing from Ho To N scale because of limited space. I have never built a real layout before but am turning my room into a bedroom/ workshop. and i need some ideas for layouts. I have 70 inches long and 36 inches wide. I have about 8feet tall.please help

jvrr

SAL Comet

May 13, 2004
N.W. Georgia
Ha Joshua, My suggestion would be to start with a simple loop with a siding or passing track on each side. That way you can get some trains running and "get your feet wet" later you can add more sidings, loops etc. when your skills and interests have developed.

Pitchwife

Dreamer
Apr 23, 2001
The middle of nowhere Oregon
Visit site
Hi Joshua, welcome to the web. :wave:
I would recomend an investment in a couple of books on layouts. In the meantime you can look at some of the sites listed on my Links Page. About half way down the right hand table is a "Layout Planning" header. The links below it will take you to some sites that have all kinds of layout plans. Even if you don't use an exact copy of one of them, it will give you an idea of what you might want on yours.
I also would recomend some layout software that will help you figure out what will fit and where to put things. A lot of it depends on what you want to do. Just have trains running around, switching, senicing, going with a strict prototype etc. Once you figure that out then we will be better abled to help you get started. Good luck and have fun! :thumb: :thumb:

Herc Driver

Apr 18, 2005
North Carolina