11-01 Take 'em out? Do your models leave home?

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Question of the day... afternoon edition ;)

Do your locos, rolling stock, or other models ever leave home?

I have taken a variety of items to the www.ovar.ca dinner "show & tell", and I have also run several of my locos at other people's layouts.

Andrew

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
I have a six tray nested storage unit I use to keep and carry my traveling roster. They tend to be of less finer detail to take the rigors of traveling from show to show.

Herc Driver

Apr 18, 2005
North Carolina
They never leave home. They have no where to go.:cry:

But I normally leave a few engines and various cars out on the layout for the kids to run when they want.

Nick8564

Sep 3, 2004
Im a college student, and my layout is back home. So I have a desk in my apartment set up with test track and soldering stations and I take most of my locomtives back and forth when I get time to go home. I got eight here now converting to DCC.

ezdays

Out AZ way
Feb 3, 2003
Arizona
bigbluetrains.com
I don't belong to a club, nor do I know anyone that has an N scale layout close to me so that I can bring them there. I guess I could take them to the store with me when I go, but I don't think they'd appreciate leaving the comfort of their warm cozy drawer, so they don't get to go out at all...:D :D

Gil Finn

Aug 28, 2005
Bergoo W Va
I took some pieces to show my dad once as I had some Carbide tankers I got on ebay and gave him one. He retired from Union Carbide with 31 years service.

An othertime I carried around the Walthers coal tipple I built to show him.

I wanted his to see these were more tahn toys, they are a hobby and a craft.

Ray Marinaccio

Aug 4, 2003
Dewey Az.
Visit site
I take some of my locos and rolling stock to run on other club members layouts, club show and tells and to run at shows.
Don, I remember a couple of your locos making it up to Dewey.:D