1:1 scale Mauser C96

Discussion in 'Gallery & Designs' started by Larry Richardson, May 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Larry Richardson

Larry Richardson New Member

I thought I would take a crack at a scratch build of this historic pistol. There is a ton of photos and drawings available on the internet, and having spent a hour or more browsing websites, I am convinced that a pretty accurate model can be constructed even without actually having a real example on hand. I am a slow builder, so this will take a good while to complete, but I will share what progress I do make. And I welcome any suggestion from anyone who has a good idea on how to proceed. My approach is to break the model into four subassemblies, as pictured below. I am beginning with the grip assembly because it would seem to be the easiest. Thinking ahead a bit, I am considering a few moveable, but not actually functional, parts... the trigger, the hammer, the safety; maybe the bolt will slide. I would like an accurate barrel lining with the correct grooves and twist... I'm not sure exactly how that will be done. Finally, I am thinking that a dark blue-black finish over Red River Paper's metalic silver cardstock might give the model that extra "wow" factor.

View attachment 1397

Attached Files:

2. Rick Thomson

Rick Thomson Member

Rifling? My hat is off to you if you pull that off, but even if it isn't possible, that will be an interesting model.
  3. Larry Richardson

Rick... I am thinking of using a wooden dowel to wind a strip of cardstock around to create the barrel grooves. I'll wrap the barrel liner around that, then pull out the dowel when the glue is dry. I imagine it will take a few tries to get a satisfactory outcome.

4. wyverns4

wyverns4 Member

I found this just the other day: