027 - Remote Control switch

Uncle Don

I am a newbie so be gentle.

I have a layout, attached to plywood, that has not been used in years. I am trying to get it set up and running for my nephews on Thanksgiving (nothing like waiting until the last minute). I am using a lockon for the contacts. When I apply power however the remote control switch closest to the lockon energizes it's solenoid. I don't even have the switch controller wired to the switch yet. No power is going to the locomotive. Any ideas?

Pooh Bah
Don: If it's a Lionel switch, there could be a problem with the non-derailing feature. Summary: the rail beyong the frog (outer rail on the curved track) is wired to the switch motor so that a train coming to a switch that is set against it will throw the switch the right way. This rail has to be isolated from the rest of the track -- there has to be an insulated (fiber) pin in the end of the rail.
I don't know why it would happen in storage, but check that the pin is there; that the rails haven't shifted over the where the gap should be or that something metal isn't bridging the gap.
If you turn the switch manually, does it pop back when power is applied?

Uncle Don

One of the fiber pins is missing and there is a metal pin in it's place. I purchased the platform with the layout attached and the trains from a neighbor who was retiring and moving to an over 55 community and wouldn't be able to keep it. He has since passed so there is no way to find out what the operational state was before I got it.

Is there anything I can substitute for the missing fiber pin?

Pooh Bah
The fast solution may be a round toothpick and an insulating washer -- you need something that won't stick out past the rail. You may get away with as little as removing the metal pin and putting a little piece of plastic in the bottom of the rail. A tight round toothpick is what I'd use.

If you need instructions, look for the Olsen's Toy website pictures.olsenstoy.com

Uncle Don