“Novice needs advice”. Book about paint&weathering: Which?

Well, I realize that the best way for learn this things is the ol' “trial&error” method, but having a good guide can help to cut corners.

There are twenty-many years that I don't paint a kit. The today paints and materials available are a bit different that the ones I was used and have more possibilities, so it's time for me having a “recycle”. :rolleyes:

If you were to recommend a book/guide about the technics in painting & weathering model structures, which one, actually in print, you would choose? (having in mind that the “novice” is not a total beginner and have already some skill) :p

Tyson Rayles

Javier I would suggest using chalks at first as they are more forgiving. I think the books by Dave Fary go into that.

spitfire

Javier, when I set out to learn weathering techniques I got all my information from the internet. You could probably do a search right here on the Gauge and turn up lots of useful information. And if you still want a book, at least this will give you something to read before you decide.

To summarize the main weathering techniques, they are:

1. Chalks (as mentioned by Tyson above). They are ground to a powder and brushed or sprinkled on dry. Once you're happy with the results, spray with fixative. Weathering powders are much the same.
Advantages: wide range of earth, rust and other colours. If you don't like it the first time, they are easy to clean off and try again.

2. Washes. Take paint (or india ink) and dilute it with either water or, more commonly alcohol (for its fast drying time). Brushed on and built up gradually. Perfect for streaks running down of either rust or scale.
Advantages: really mimics the flow of rusty or scaley water down the sides and into cracks and crannies. Disadvantages: once it's on, it's on.